I hope this works….

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Soapmaking – the first attempt.

on April 6, 2013

I have heard soap-making can be forgiving.  I sure hope that is true.

I took a class a couple of months ago. Waited until it wasn’t snowing or blowing or just plain too darn cold outside. The oils were too hot (150 degrees) and the lye/milk/water was too cold (85 degrees) when it came time to mixing them together, so I put the lye mixture in a hot water bath in the sink and put the too hot oil/fats in the fridge until both were within the 100-120 degree range.  Then I mixed them together and apparently achieved “trace” without realizing it as the mix suddenly started to get solid. I quickly poured it into one mold and part of another.  Then wrapped them in a towel and stuck them in a box on the floor. They have to stay warm for at least 24 hours.  Maybe I should have put them in an insulated cooler.

I hope this works.

2 responses to “Soapmaking – the first attempt.

  1. ekgo says:

    I keep wanting to hook you up with my friend Joanie – she makes my most favorite soaps. But she also keeps not coming back from Hawaii so getting the two of you together will be difficult. Unless your bike swims and can make it out to some islands?

    Like

  2. sirrka says:

    LOL, I don’t know if my bike swims or not; I will have to ride it to the coast and find out. See you soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

