I hope this works….

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Shampoo bar

on April 11, 2013

I don’t know whether to say a “bar of shampoo” or  “hair soap”, but either way, I made some today. I scented it it with Rosemary and Lavender.  This time I added enough smelly bits and at the right time. I finished it around 4 and it still smells good.  I got the recipe from the Mommypotamus site/blog (link is on the left) and it was really easy. It is a Hot Process Soap (HPS) as compared to the Cold Process Soap (CPS) I made earlier.  The main difference is that that you heat up the mixed oils/fats/lye in your crockpot for an hour.  An added step, but it cuts the curing time from a month to a week. It also looks different…more chunky.

I accidentally bought Lanolin oil instead of Castor oil, so had to go back to Whole Foods to make the exchange. Lanolin and Castor oil do not do the same thing in soap making, even tho they sit right next to each other in the store….   I lost the receipt in the two short hours I was home, and was all apologetic to the checker, but he didn’t even flinch and made the exchange with no problem.  That was the only hiccup. Everything else proceeded according to plan and now the soap is sitting in it’s little mold and getting hard enough to pull out and cut.  Should be ready tomorrow afternoon.  I might even post pictures.  This is a boring post. I am tired.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Shampoo bar

  1. ekgo says:

    Wait up – why are you making bars of hair soap shampoo? Have you left behind the baking soda and vinegar routine? Or did it just sound fun to make?

    Like

  2. sirrka says:

    Yes, It sounded fun to make…..Also, it might prove to be easier to transport as I travel back and forth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

