I hope this works….

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Short people and motorcycles

on April 12, 2013

Dear Honda,

Please make more Motorcycles for people who are short…I”m talking 5ft 3 or shorter.  I know you make lots of cool cruisers that I can ride and flat foot – the Shadow 600 was my first bike, but I am looking at touring bikes now.  I was really excited about your newest model, the NC700.  With the gas tank under the seat and the resulting lower center of gravity, it sounded  perfect for me….until I looked at the specs and saw the seat height….32 inches.  I cannot even tippy-toe at 32 inches.

Suzuki and Kawasaki? Love you both…I own a Ninja 500r, but it is not a touring bike. The aggressive riding position is too aggressive for me – even with 1 inch risers.  I can only ride for about 50 miles.  After that things start to hurt.  I don’t like hurt. It spoils the view and the fresh air.  It is most definitely not a touring bike.  The V-Strom and Concours are great-looking bikes, but I can’t ride them and adding a lowering link for 4 inches really messes up the handling.

BMW……I have discovered your F700gs.   It is an adventure- touring bike.  It has the gas tank under the seat, and with the optional low seat, I can touch ground…It is a beautiful bike.  I want it…..I just can’t afford it. Even with the easy-pay option you offer.

So Honda, you have the design, the tech, the know-how, you even have the right price range.  Why not make a smaller framed adventure-touring bike for us short people? I know you can do it.

Thank you for listening.

Your (short) friend.

Leave a Reply

