I hope this works….

If you don't experiment, you don't learn.

Squirrels……

on May 14, 2013

Can you believe it? Those squirrels tried to steal my sunflower seedlings!

I am hardening off my seedlings as our  Frost Date is fast approaching.  All my little green babies are basking in the sun, enjoying the breezes and generally making me feel better.  I am talking on the phone with a friend and what do I see, but two BRAZEN squirrels making off with one of my sunflower seedlings. Usually they are just content to steal the seeds and leave the seedlings alone, but this….this display of wanton cruelty made my blood boil. I run out on the deck and stamp my feet and clap my hands and they look at me like ….”Wha?” and continue to cart off the little expando-pot!  My friend is all like, “What is going on?” and she has the gall to laugh when I tell her what the noise was about.

Humph.

I manage to get the sunflower seedling back and put it in the house, along with it’s brethren  and sistern.  The furry little beasts come back and I can see them plotting, staring through the screen at my tender little sprouts. I run noisily  at them again and eventually they get the message and leave.

I suppose I should tell you that I  feed the squirrels in the winter.  In the coldest days in the heart of winter, I put out food for them. It isn’t winter anymore. You would think they could figure it out.  Food appears in the winter and not during the rest of the year. Squirrels are supposed to be smart.  Maybe these ones didn’t do well in Squirrel School.  Maybe that is why they are married.  Maybe we will get a whole crop of un-smart squirrels.  Maybe I could capture them and start breeding them and market them and make a fortune with my dumb squirrels…..Gardeners the world over would laud me.  Maybe.

I go down and check on the seedlings I had planted earlier in the day.  My Italian Flat Pole Beans.

Let me digress a bit.  I love green snap beans and usually grow the bush beans, having had a bad experience with pole beans in my formative years. But last year something happened to change my mind.  We visited some friends who were farm-sitting and  the owners had this beautiful, lush, veggie garden.  We picked lots of good stuff for dinner, but the only thing I remember about the whole meal was the pole beans.  They were the most luscious beans I had ever had the fortune to eat. They changed my mind about pole beans….forever. This year I decided to grow only these Italian Flat Beans and forgo the Bush beans. I planted 17 of them. For only two ppl, that is a lot of beans, but I don’t care, I am in love.

So I told you that, to tell you this. Imagine my dismay upon arriving in the garden to see that the squirrels had been digging in the garden…..they have 8 beds to choose from and where do they dig? My Italian Flat Pole Beans…… Luckily I managed to arrive early enough so that they didn’t wreak too much damage.   But.  War.  has been. declared. No-one messes with my pole beans.  I am expecting a book to arrive in the mail within 3 weeks that will give me some advice on how to wage a successful war.  I have told  Squirreletzer and his mate, Squirrelette,  that they should consider moving before things get really serious. Tomorrow I will put down some netting.

The war begins.

 

One response to “Squirrels……

  1. Abriel Olive says:

    VIVA LOS SQUIRRELS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

